top of page

A Semester in New Zealand

For my entire life, one of my top priorities has been broadening my perspective. Learning about other cultures and meeting new people is thrilling, surprising, and endlessly rewarding. However, I have never had the opportunity to completely immerse myself in a new community and become a part of it. While preparing this blog, I realized that the best way to convey my expectations for my time in New Zealand—and my expectations for myself—is by showing you all what I would do if honored with the chance to attend the University of Canterbury.

Actual photographic evidence of me near a sheep.

Living in New Zealand holds much more for me than having stepped foot in the homeland of Flight of the Concords, or finally befriending a sheep who will tolerate me. Like most Kiwis, I also live by the principles set forth by Gandalf the Grey. I absolutely consider shoes overrated. Much like Bilbo, I have stalwartly proclaimed the importance of second breakfast from a young age.

(Actual photographic evidence of me nearing a sheep. Note the New Zealand sheep look significantly more majestic, but just as apathetic about my presence.)

(Flight of the Conchords and I at our annual photo shoot.)

New Zealand is a country in which dwarves and elves alike have the citizenship they deserve, heralding cultural diversity while simultaneously backpacking across incredible geologic features (e.g., Mount Doom). As a future geologist with hopes to travel and study the Earth, I would happily move into a cave with Gollum. As a student who cares immensely for broadening my academic and cultural perspective, I would be open to experiences that may require risk and unfamiliarity for reward.

(Adventures with Bilbo.)

Christchurch is unique in its resilience and commitment to rebuild after a geological tragedy. Helping a community that has survived a natural disaster is also extremely relevant to my chosen field, allowing me to use what I’ve learned in the classroom and the lab to improve people’s lives, even if my impact is small. The University of Canterbury offers a strong geology program and countless opportunities to get involved with the city beyond the student body (even if there are more sheep than people). Because I am considering a career in geohydrology, the chance to move to an area in which it is possible to visit glaciers and take courses at UC about Antarctica is unparalleled.

(Accurate-to scale-representation of me exploring Fox Glacier.)

(Making friends on UC's campus.)

My passion for sheep, the Shire, and adventure make New Zealand and the University of Canterbury an ideal fit for my study abroad experience. I also own a ring, and would happily destroy it in magma in return for a chance to see Mount Ngauruhoe in person.

Two rings I own that conveniently have supernatural powers:

Where I would throw them to study abroad in New Zealand:

Joking aside, there is much more to New Zealand than the stereotypes in these photos, and I look forward to getting to know the country for what it truly is. New Zealand presents endless opportunities to improve myself and step out of my comfort zone. I would be immensely grateful if you can make these photos more realistic by helping me fund my study abroad.

Naku noa, na Kelsey Woody

bottom of page